Skip to Content

AWS Solution Architect Associate certification: The ultimate guide

Posted on October 25, 2022 by

Categories: AWS


Many enterprises are seeking solutions to adapt to the new normal due to the COVID-19 epidemic and the quickly changing cloud industry. One method is implementing remote work while shifting their IT infrastructure to the cloud. Being certified in cloud computing would improve your profile and CV in this cutthroat industry, where IT professionals with cloud computing abilities are in high demand.

The AWS Cloud Professional and Solutions Architect Associate certifications, two of AWS’s most sought-after credentials, will provide an overview. We will respond to various inquiries from applicants, including the level of expertise required, the certification pathways, the intended audience for the certification, and methods for exam preparation.

Solutions Architect for AWS

Discover all you need to know about Amazon Web Services (AWS), including the AWS Management Console, S3 buckets, EC2 instances, database services, cloud security, and AWS prices.

According to Synergy Research Group, AWS’s market share increased to 32% in Q1 2020, with more than 1 million users and a number of Fortune 500 firms using the platform internationally, including Netflix, Adobe, and Shell. According to the company’s data, AWS and Microsoft together control over 50% of the market for cloud infrastructure services, with Microsoft holding a share of 18%.

LinkedIn ranked cloud computing as the second-most crucial complex skill businesses will require in 2020. The network of professionals with profiles and positions listed on LinkedIn in 2019 was used to create the list.

With an average income of $175,761, Global Knowledge reports that the Google Certified Professional Cloud Architect (“GCP-CA”) is the highest earning qualification for the second consecutive year. With an average income of $149,446 behind it comes AWS Certified Solutions.

Architect — Associate (“AWS-SAA”). In addition, the GCP-CA or the AWS-SAA certifications were held by three out of every four cloud architects polled. Cloud computing certificates from Google Cloud, AWS, and Microsoft Azure make up five of the highest-paying IT credentials.

What does the title “AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner” mean?

The AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner certification is intended for people who want to learn about the AWS cloud in its entirety. It certifies that a person is knowledgeable about the AWS platform, the AWS shared responsibility model, the primary AWS services, and the AWS cloud economics, including pricing, billing, and analysis.

The AWS Cloud Practitioner exam covers the following topics throughout its four (4) domains:

  • Cloud ideas
  • Safety and adherence
  • Technology
  • Pricing and billing

Both technical and non-technical employees in management, sales, buying, legal, or financial jobs who need to understand AWS but lack in-depth technical knowledge might benefit from earning the AWS Cloud Practitioner certification.

What is the Associate level of the AWS Certified Solutions Architect certification?

The AWS Certified Solutions Architect — Associate credential attests to a person’s verifiable proficiency in creating and implementing fault-tolerant, scalable, highly available systems on AWS. Utilizing AWS computing, networking, storage, and database services demonstrates technical proficiency. Additionally, one should be familiar with the global infrastructure of AWS and the fundamental architectural tenets of creating in the AWS cloud.

The AWS-SAA exam covers the following four (4) areas in detail:

  • Create resilient structures.
  • Create High-Performance Buildings
  • Create secure software and architectures
  • Create cost-effective architectural designs

What certification routes are available?

As of June 2020, AWS will provide 12 unique credentials at four levels—Foundational, Associate, Professional, and Specialty—covering five (5) different categories.

The Cloud Practitioner certification aims to certify candidates’ general knowledge of cloud computing and AWS cloud.

Architect with AWS Cloud Practitioner certification: These credentials are targeted at those who create and implement distributed systems on the AWS platform.


These certificates are targeted at those who create, create, and manage cloud applications on the AWS platform, including AWS Certified Solutions Architect — Associate and AWS Certified Solutions Architect — Professional Developer.

Associate AWS Certified DevOps Engineer: AWS Certified Developer — Business Operations: These certificates are targeted at those implementing networks, apps, and other technologies on the AWS platform.

Associate AWS Certified SysOps Administrator Professional Specialty AWS Certified DevOps Engineer: These certificates are designed for professionals with advanced specializations in networking, security, machine learning, etc.

  • AWS Advanced Networking Certification
  • Certified Security by AWS
  • Certified by AWS for Machine Learning
  • Builder of AWS Certified Alexa Skills
  • Certified by AWS Data Analytics

Database certified by AWS

Before seeking the Professional certification, applicants are no longer needed to hold the Associate certificate, and they are no longer required to hold the Cloud Practitioner or Associate certificate before pursuing the Specialty certification, according to AWS.

Which expertise do you require?

Candidates must have at least six months of experience with essential AWS cloud technologies and cloud computing skills to sit for the Cloud Professional test. Candidates for the AWS SAA test must have one or more years of practical experience creating scalable, fault-tolerant, cost-effective, and available distributed systems on AWS.

Before pursuing the AWS-SAA certification, having at least a year of experience may be beneficial. If you don’t have the necessary experience, you can put extra effort into completing practical lab classes to build a strong foundation for using the AWS environment.